3 Legendary Pokemon

Legendary Pokemon

Legendary Pokémon are a very powerful and rare type of Pokemon. These Pokemon are legendary and cannot be caught in the wild in the video games. Currently there are 81 Legendary Pokemon, these include some fan favourites such as Mewtwo and Arceus.

Below I will discuss what defines a legendary Pokemon and where to find them.

Why are some Pokemon legendary?

Legendary Bird Ho-Oh

Legendary Pokemon are generally found from special encounters in the Pokemon games. Over the years, more and more Legendary Pokémon have been introduced in each Generation. Starting with just the 5 legendary Pokémon in Generation 1, and as of Generation 8, there are 81 different Legendary Pokémon.

Legendary Pokemon are incredibly powerful and typically feature in the legends and myths of the Pokemon world. No specific criteria define what makes a Pokemon a legendary Pokemon. The only way to identify a Pokemon as being legendary is through official statements from The Pokemon Company, such as the anime and games.

Each legendary Pokemon is special in its own way and have some of the best abilities. Arguably when it comes to popular opinion on the most powerful Pokemon, legendary Pokemon are among the top 5.

Top 5 Most Powerful Legendary Pokemon

3 Legendary Birds
Moltres, Zapdos and Articuno respectively
1. Arceus: This normal type legendary Pokemon is the creator of the universe and therefore considered the God of all Pokemon. Arceus also has the ability to create legendary Pokemon. Since Arceus has the ability to create Pokemon and alter the state of reality, it by far surpasses the power of any other Pokemon. Hence, why Arceus is considered the God of all Pokemon.
2. Mewtwo: This psychic type Pokemon was created in a lab by humans and is a genetically enhanced version of another legendary Pokemon, Mew. Mewtwo was engineered to battle other Pokemon and can only think of defeating it’s foes making Mewtwo one of the most powerful Pokemon.
3. Giratina: This dual-type Ghost/Dragon legendary Pokemon was created by Arceus to control antimatter. It can control who enters the Distortion World, which is a world that exists on the reverse side of ours.
4. Dialga: This dual-type Steel/Dragon legendary Pokemon was created by Arceus to be the controller of time and can travel at will through the past and future.
5. Palkia: This dual-type Water/Dragon legendary Pokemon was also created by Arceus to command space itself, distorting space as well as creating new universes.
FUN FACT: Giratina, Dialga and Palkia are known as the creation trio due to them being the first legendary Pokemon created by the almighty Arceus and are the controllers of Matter, Time and Space respectively.

List of all Legendary Pokemon

To get the best overview of all legendary Pokémon, it’s important to look at them in order from each generation. The first generation of Pokémon is now more than 25 years old, leading all the way up to the most recent generation from the Galar region. These Pokémon are now very much known from the Sword and Shield games, but plenty of other iconic legendary Pokémon came before that…

I have listed all the legendary Pokemon below in order of their release in the games.

Generation One

Generation One
  • Mewtwo
  • Moltres
  • Articuno
  • Zapdos
  • Mew*

Generation Two

Generation two
  • Lugia
  • Ho-Oh
  • Entei
  • Suicune
  • Raikou
  • Celebi*

Generation Three

Generation three
  • Regirock
  • Regice
  • Registeel
  • Latias
  • Latios
  • Groudon
  • Kyogre
  • Rayquaza
  • Jirachi*
  • Deoxys*

Generation Four

Generation four
  • Dialga
  • Palkia
  • Giratina
  • Uxie
  • Mesprit
  • Azelf
  • Cresselia
  • Heatran
  • Regigigas
  • Phione*
  • Manaphy*
  • Darkrai*
  • Shaymin*
  • Arceus*

Generation Five

Generation five
  • Cobalion
  • Terrakion
  • Virizion
  • Tornadus
  • Thundurus
  • Landorus
  • Reshiram
  • Zekrom
  • Kyurem
  • Victini*
  • Keldeo*
  • Meloetta*
  • Genesect*

Generation Six

Generation six
  • Xerneas
  • Yveltal
  • Zygarde
  • Diancie*
  • Hoopa*
  • Volcanion*

Generation Seven

Generation seven
  • Type: Null
  • Silvally
  • Tapu Koko
  • Tapu Lele
  • Tapu Bulu
  • Tapu Fini
  • Cosmog
  • Cosmoem
  • Solgaleo
  • Lunala
  • Necrozma
  • Nihilego**
  • Buzzwole**
  • Pheromosa**
  • Celesteela**
  • Kartana**
  • Guzzlord**
  • Poipole**
  • Nagandel**
  • Stakataka**
  • Blacephalon**
  • Magearna*
  • Marshadow*
  • Zeraora*
  • Meltan*
  • Melmetal*

Generation Eight

Generation 8
  • Zacian
  • Zamazenta
  • Eternatus
  • Kubfu
  • Urshifu
  • Regieleki
  • Regidrago
  • Galarian Articuno
  • Galarian Moltres
  • Galarian Zapdos
  • Glastrier
  • Spectrier
  • Calyrex
  • Zarude*

*Mythical Pokemon ** Ultra Beasts

Although some legendary Pokemon are considered Mythical or Ultra Beasts they all fall under the Legendary category.


The first four Legendary Pokémon coming to Pokémon GO have been revealed. CREDIT: NIANTIC

After many years with Pokémon, a total of eight generations have been created and there will be more to come. Legendary Pokemon have always been sought after in the games and the TCG. These are the Pokémon everyone wants to get their hands on.

Whether it’s in the games or when collecting the cards, legendary Pokémon are usually designed with a little extra power and tend to be the strongest out there. Besides legendary Pokemon, there are also Ultra Beasts and Mythical Pokemon which are usually the rarest Pokemon.  

My top 5 list is my opinion only and I would love to hear what your top 5 legendary Pokemon are… Please check out my next post which is all about Mythical Pokemon.

logo for the pokemon guide

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *